Reading about the history of makeup and hair dye, cosmetic surgery and designer feet brought this question to my mind. Over the past week, I have been observing more and more the impact of marketing on society and on myself.
With the advancements in technology and quality of photo retouching you can do today, the 'ideal woman' has become something almost unachievable. Flipping through my roommates Cosmo, I can see lovely ladies adorning almost every page- many of them with their sultry eyes half closed, mouths slightly open, vacant expressions on their faces. They have flawless skin, not a strand of hair out of place, and 'perfect' proportions. They are gorgeous and with tools that you too can obtain (makeup, hair products, lyposcution and breast augmentation), you will be beautiful, life will be easy, and you will be happy. A few months ago, one of the headlines on the cover was, "get rid of muffin top!" My reaction to this: "well wtf is muffin top?" A few days later as I was standing in front of the mirror getting ready to go out, I noticed that my jeans felt a little tight around the waist and that I had flesh bulging up over my belt- the dreaded "muffin top!" Now that that had a term (classification!)- I was aware of it and conscious of the fact that I needed to get rid of it.
This image that magazines, billboards, movies, and pretty much everywhere else has become near impossible for women to match, bringing about that "inferiority complex" and making cosmetic surgury more and more fashionable. You too can stand out- in a good way while still being normal, accepted, and comfortable in your own skin- with the rachel haircut, angelina jolie lips, petite feet, and a brand new nose.
I don't like the power advertising has over me. I don't like the fact that I am 5'10 and 150 lbs and that there are still things that popular culture tells me I should change about my body to be happier and live a more rewarding life. I don't like that I subscribe to buying pricey, high end make up or that it makes me more confident in myself, but somehow it does.
it's 5 minutes till midnight and looking back on this post I'm not exactly sure that I've anwered what I should have or have the right idea of what I should be posting... I hope this post did not get too off topic or turn into too much of a personal rant.
Sunday, February 7, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment